Posts Tagged "Navajo reservation"

Book follows Natives’ place in the Market

Posted on Aug 31, 2012 in Recent News | 0 comments

Excerpt published online courtesy ABQJournal

By David Steinberg / Journal Staff Writer on Sun, Aug 12, 2012

AT BOOKWORKS: The store at 4022 Rio Grande NW hosts these events this week. … Mark Sublette chats about his new novel, “Paint By Numbers: A Charles Bloom Mystery,” at 3 p.m. today. Sublette is owner of Santa Fe’s Medicine Man Gallery.

Read More

Book Signing, Santa Fe – August 10th

Posted on Jul 31, 2012 in Recent News | 0 comments

Sante Fe, Friday, August 10th

7:00 PM

The Santa Fe Show

During Opening Night Gala

El Museo Cultural de Santa Fe

555 Camino de la Familia

www.TheSantaFeShow.com

Click here for more information

 

Paint by Numbers: A Charles Bloom Murder Mystery

Book Signing with author Mark Sublette

Hardcover, 264 pages, ISBN: 978-0-9855448-0-5

To place an order: office@medicinemangallery.com or call toll free: 800.422.9382

Click here to read for reviews, book description and an interview with the author

Read More

Paint by Numbers: A Charles Bloom Murder Mystery

Posted on Jul 31, 2012 in Books | 0 comments

Paint by Numbers: A Charles Bloom Murder Mystery

by Mark Sublette

Cover painting by Francis Livingston

Hardcover

Copyright 2012

264 pages

SOLD OUT HARDCOVER

AVAILABLE ON EBOOKS, visit Amazon.com or Smashwords.com

ISBN: 978-0-9855448-0-5

Reviews:

“From the gripping prologue to the twist-upon-twist conclusion, Mark Sublette’s PAINT BY NUMBERS will keep you up nights… unable to stop turning the page!” – – Sandi Ault, best-selling author of the WILD Mystery Series

“Mark Sublette’s first novel is… marvelous. The white art dealer Charles Bloom lives in New Mexico with Indians. His impressive work is constantly taken away by those who go for nothing but money in New York. But Charles Bloom never stops in following great creativity… neither should we.” – – Michael Blake, Dances with Wolves

“A deadly mystery about art and ambition, stretching from Navajoland to New York.” – – Wolf Schneider, abqARTS

“This riveting art mystery, in the tradition of the late Tony Hillerman, successfully develops an intriguing tale that captures the essence of the creative spirit of the Navajo from the Toadlena region.” – – Mark Winter, The Master Weavers and owner of the Historic Toadlena Trading Post

Book Description:

Bloom’s on Canyon Road, specializing in contemporary Native American art, once was a powerhouse gallery in Santa Fe. Then it lost its best-known artist, Willard Yellowhorse. Worse yet was Yellowhorse’s premature death soon after arriving in New York City under very suspicious circumstances.

With Yellowhorse’s final painting STRUGGLE, about to be sold at auction, gallery owner Charles Bloom’s inner voice keeps asking two unrelenting questions: how did Willard Yellowhorse really die, and who if anyone killed him? The answers for Charles lay somewhere deep inside the Navajo nation, Yellowhorse’s ancestral home. Charles will need the help of Yellowhorse’s sister, Rachael, and her grandfather, the nearly 100-year-old medicine man Hastiin Sherman, to unlock the key to Yellowhorse’s death. What Charles Bloom doesn’t realize is the evil coyote spirit that tracked down Yellowhorse is still watching and Charles could be next, if he isn’t careful….

A Charles Bloom murder mystery set in Santa Fe and Indian Country. Perfect for fans of Tony Hillerman.

A conversation with Mark Sublette, author of PAINT BY NUMBERS: A CHARLES BLOOM MURDER MYSTERY

Q: Since you are an art gallery owner in Santa Fe, and so is Charles Bloom, how is he like you and how is he not like you?

A: Bloom deals in strictly contemporary Native material, all modern works. I handle primarily antique Native artifacts and western art. From a dealer standpoint, I’m sure I have felt many of the same emotions working in the art profession.

Q: How much of what you write about in this book is true?

A: I use a few deceased artists and historic facts to help bring scenes to life, but all the events surrounding these characters are fictitious. The geographic locations and timelines are accurate, and the Toadlena Trading Post is real. This is one of the reasons I include my photos–so you know what’s real.

Q: Is Bloom’s much like your Medicine Man Gallery?

A: We’re both located on the 600 Block of Canyon Road! The feel of Bloom’s is similar to many historic galleries on Canyon Road.

Q: How many times have you been to Navajoland, and does it still have hogans without electricity?

A: I love to visit the Navajo Reservation. The land has a starkness that is palatable and in some ways it’s just like it was 100 years ago. There are still hogans and houses without electricity or water. Having said that, young men in hoodies listening to rap are also a part of today’s rez.

Q: Does Canyon de Chelly really have all those old crypts?

A: There are crypts in Canyon de Chelly, but you won’t be able to see them as they are well hidden and not something that would be shared with outsiders.

Q: Is the character of Willard Yellowhorse modeled on any real-life Native painter, like maybe TC Cannon?

A: Willard is no one and everyone. He is the creative power that can be found in all artists. He and his sister Rachael Yellowhorse in my mind embody people I would meet not only on the reservation but at a university. Well educated, yet respecting their culture.

Q: Have you ever met the famous people appearing in this book, like Andy Warhol, Donald Judd, and Jean-Michel Basquiat?

A: They were before my time, but captured my imagination in books and films. Since all the scenes I place them in are figments of my imagination, I sort of turn them into fictional characters, respecting how I would expect them to behave, and bringing some cachet of their times.

Q: Have you ever known an art dealer as unscrupulous as Bernard?

A: Thankfully no…though it’s possible they’re out there.

Q: Have you ever been to an auction at Sotheby’s in New York?

A: Many times.

Q: Do you believe in coyote spirits and evil chindi?

A: Surprisingly I do. There are some places and things we don’t understand, especially when it comes to Native American beliefs, and I don’t take those beliefs lightly.

Q: Did you take all the 22 photos in this book, and which ones are of Navajoland?

A: They are all my images, and mostly of Navajoland. There’s one of New York City, and one is a drawing by Maynard Dixon of Canyon de Muerto done in 1923. The images were mostly taken around the Toadlena Trading Post, Gallup, and Canyon de Chelly.

Q: When is the next Charles Bloom book coming out?

A: The next book comes out summer 2013 and is titled Kayenta Crossing. That book is more focused on the Navajo Reservation, with a new character who’s a young medical doctor, and of course Charles Bloom is back. The story for that particular book has been rolling around in my head for over a decade!

Read More

Medicine Man Mystery Launch

Posted on Jul 26, 2012 in Recent News | 0 comments

Cover-Western-Art-Collector-August-2012Published online courtesy Western Art Collector, August 2012

Art lovers and should mark their calendars for the August 16th launch of the crime novel Paint by Numbers by gallery owner Dr. Mark Sublette. Set in Santa Fe and New York City, Paint by Numbers, Sublette’s debut work, will give readers a unique picture of the art dealer’s world — and provide a bit of suspense.

“I’ve always had a fascination about how values go up when artists are no longer around,” Sublette says. “The premise of the murder mystery is set on that little nugget.”

Sublette, who has owned the Medicine Man Gallery on Canyon Road for more than 16 years, has fused a bit of his savvy art business sense and experience with a Hillerman-esque style of fiction, set against the backdrop of the Navajo Nation.

“The most interesting thing that readers will like is that there is an authenticity as my background as an art dealer,” he reiterates, “and one who deals in Native American materials, who loves Native American cultures.

“I’ve known some medicine men and have had interaction with artists who have medicine men as their family members,” he offers. “And I know quite a bit about sandpaintings — I’ve always had an interest in that. The rituals I bring out are close to what happens. I do change a few things because I don’t want it to be too sensitive to the Navajo.”

Charles Bloom, the protagonist who owns a contemporary art gallery on Canyon Road, is faced with the loss of the great protege, Willard Yellowhorse. Years later, Charles, is still trying to come to grips with the loss of a great artist. When Yellowhorse’s final painting, Struggle, is about to be sold at auction, Bloom’s inner voice is shouting with two unrelenting questions: How did Willard Yellowhorse really die? And who, if anyone, killed him?

Paint by Numbers, the first in the Charles Bloom mystery series, will be available in hardcover at museum stores, at the Medicine Man Gallery and website, and in eformat on Kindle, Amazon and Nook.

Mark Sublette Medicine Man Gallery is located at 602A Canyon Road in Santa Fe. For more information, call 866-894-7451 or visit www.medicinemangallery.com

Read More

Late afternoon thunderstorm October Navajo reservation

Posted on May 6, 2012 in About the photos on the Homepage, Photography | 0 comments

Late afternoon thunderstorm October Navajo reservation

Late afternoon thunderstorm October Navajo reservation

Read More